Skip to content

21st Century Schools and Education Capital Programme Board

21st Century Schools and Education Capital Programme Board

The Board acts as an operational Board. It provides advice and guidance to the Department for Education and Skills (DfES), the Welsh Government Capital Investment Panel (CIP) and the Minister for Education and Skills (MfES) on all relevant aspects of the Programme.

A diagram showing the organisations that contribute to the membership of the Programme Board

Specifically the Board will advise both the CIP and the MfES on:

  • all relevant aspects of the implementation and delivery of the Programme
  • the monitoring, management and delivery of the Programme
  • it will also discuss and recommend decisions for consideration by the DfES CIP in its capacity as the Sponsoring Group.

It has equal membership drawn from:

All Programme Board Members are nominated by their representative organisation.  Regard is given to their ability to represent their organisation and to the Seven Principles of Public Life (The Nolan Principles).  They adhere to the 21st Century Schools Board Constitution.

The Board meets on a quarterly basis.  Meetings are chaired by the Director of Infrastructure, Curriculum, Qualifications and Learner Support (ICQLS) Group

Programme Personnel

The main board members are currently:

  • Steve Davies, Director, Education Directorate, Welsh Government - Chair
  • Chris Llewelyn, Director of Lifelong Learning, Welsh Local Government Association (WLGA) – Vice-Chair
  • Mark James, Chief Executive, Carmarthenshire Council; Society of Local Authority Chief Executives and Senior Managers (SOLACE)
  • Ian Budd, Director of Lifelong Learning, Flintshire CBC.
  • ADEW representative
  • Nigel Aurelius, Assistant Chief Executive of Resources, Torfaen CBC.
  • Rosalind Williams, Diocesan Schools Officer (Legal & Buildings)
  • Iestyn Davies, Chief Executive, Colleges Wales
  • Daisy Seabourne, Lifelong Learning Policy Manager, WLGA.

DfES Capital Investment Panel

The DfES CIP considers and approves business cases for investment from all education sectors, which are then subject to final Ministerial approval. It is this panel that recommends approval of grants to the Minster and not the 21st Century Schools Programme Board.

The Minister has the power to:

  • approve capital funds for community schools under Sections 14-16 of the Education Act 2002
  • fund capital works for voluntary aided or foundation schools under Schedule 3 to the Schools Standards and Frameworks Act 1998,.
  • approve strategic capital investment to Further Education Institutions under Sections 31, 32 and 33 of the Learning and Skills Act 2000.

These powers were conferred on the National Assembly for Wales and were transferred to the Welsh Ministers by paragraph 30 of Schedule 11 to the Government of Wales Act 2006 (external link).

Grants to Higher Education Funding Council for Wales (HEFCW) are made by the Welsh Ministers under section 68 of the Further and Higher Education Act 1992 (external link).  This Act gives the Welsh Ministers the power to determine the amount of grants and terms and conditions that may apply to them.